Gaston County Assault And Battery Charges
If you get into a fist fight with someone at a local bar, you could find yourself walking away with more than a few bruises. You may also end up with a charge of assault and battery. Under North Carolina law, even simple assault — the least serious charge — is a class 2 misdemeanor which can carry up to 60 days in jail and a $1,000 fine.
I am attorney Brent D. Ratchford, and I am here to stand up for you. From my office conveniently located in historic downtown Gastonia, I am fully prepared to represent you against charges of assault, domestic violence, assault on a female or any other violent crime.
I take my oath to provide excellent representation very seriously. Through meticulous trial preparation and a firm attention to detail, I strive to achieve that goal.
Were You Charged With Felony Assault For Carrying A So-Called Weapon?
What is commonly called “aggravated assault” in many other states is called “felony assault” or “felonious assault” in North Carolina. It typically involves the use of a deadly weapon or the infliction of a serious injury. It can also involve any type of physical force against a police officer, a person with special needs or someone in another protected class.
Defining what is and isn’t a “deadly weapon” can be a real issue in these cases. A shotgun obviously fits into this category, but even a beer bottle or a sharp pencil could potentially be considered a deadly weapon as well.
With more than 25 years of experience in criminal law, I know how to interpret the facts of your case and how to work toward the best resolution possible in your particular situation.
Don’t Delay, Contact My Law Firm Today
When you have been charged with a violent crime, choose a criminal defense lawyer with the experience and dedication to make a difference. Call 704-215-4493 or contact me online to schedule a free initial consultation. I gladly make jail visits.